Africa Forum Baden-Württemberg

The Africa Forum for a fairer perspective on the African continent and Baden-Württemberg

#ChangingtheNarrative

Many people of African origin who live in Baden-Württemberg are actively committed to global responsibility, the 2030 Agenda and diverse partnerships both in Baden-Württemberg and in their countries of origin. After the successful and inspiring opening event and the laying of the foundation stone of the first Africa Forum Baden-Württemberg in 2022, a permanent platform for Afro-diasporic civil society is now to be promoted. The Africa Forum Baden-Württemberg network strives for exchange between all actors, both from state politics, foundations, municipal representations and administration, and would like to strengthen these partnerships and the participation of those committed to global issues in order to also improve the image of Africa Rethink Baden-Württemberg. The Africa Forum Baden-Württemberg network is coordinated jointly by Forum of Cultures e.V. and the SEZ, with the support of the State Ministry of Baden-Württemberg.

Become part of the network

We are pleased about your interest in the Africa Forum and cordially invite you to become part of the network. Here you can find out about the planned and past network meetings.

20. Jun
SEZECONOMY

Biogas, solar and wind power: Sustainable energy production in sub-Saharan Africa: Development policy lunch talk

12:00 - 13:30
12. Jun
BW-BURUNDI PARTNERSHIPCOMMITTED IN BADEN-WÜRTTEMBERGPARTNERSHIP CENTER

Digital presentation of the second edition of the brochure “Reflect North-South Partnerships”

16:00 - 17:30
06. Sep
COMMITTED IN BADEN-WÜRTTEMBERG

Rhine-Neckar District adventure tour: From the river to the sea – the path of our waste

14:00 - 18:00
26. October
AFRICA FORUM

Africa Forum Baden-Württemberg

Full-time

Network meeting 2024

The last network meeting took place on April 06, 2024 at Fair trade fair in Stuttgart. The theme was Change of perspective: Images of Africa reflected in the generations. Established and young voices from the Afrodiaspora shared their personal experiences and encounters with images of Africa and the stereotypical representation of the continent in Baden-Württemberg in living room conversations. Moderated by Faisal Osman (Black Community Foundation Stuttgart eV) have Naemi Mirene Makiadi (Afrokids International eV, ReCollect Collective) and Komlan Batema (KAMA MBOWOU eV) as well as Grace Alele (SIMAMA – STAND UP eV) and Eric Kamguia (Awoli eV) talked together about the diversity and complexity of the African continent. In the discussions, the speakers took the listeners on an intergenerational journey into the past, present and future. Musically, the artist has Akeva! Malayika the event was framed with songs relevant to development policy.

Network meeting at Fair Trade: Images of Africa as reflected in the generations (© Cengiz Akaygün)
Network meeting at Fair Trade: Images of Africa as reflected in the generations (© Cengiz Akaygün)

Network meeting 2023

Let us open a new chapter together, write different stories and, on this basis, cultivate equal partnerships that give us all a fairer perspective on the African continent and on us in Baden-Württemberg! Because this is the only way we can overcome global challenges.

On October 27, 2023, a network meeting of the Africa Forum Baden-Württemberg took place as part of the Africa Days in Ludwigsburg. Following the network meeting, the founding of the 1st Pan-African Council of Baden-Württemberg was initiated.

YOUR CONTACT PERSONS

SAMRAWIT PETROS

Strategy Partnerships & Africa Forum

LESLIE HAWENER

Management & Communications Officer

Insights into the first Africa Forum on October 27, 2022

Changing the narrative together. Redesign partnerships together.

The same images with the same stories: common images of Africa are rightly criticized. Because: Unfortunately, the African continent is often only reported in stereotypes that largely use colonial image patterns.

The story of a benevolent Europe lending a helping hand to a supposedly backward Africa is still often told. It’s high time to change this narrative! Specifically also with regard to the questions: Who makes development policy in Baden-Württemberg? How is the African continent seen in Baden-Württemberg?

Cooperation with Africa is becoming increasingly important.

The expertise and partnerships to shape this collaboration already exist in Baden-Württemberg. With the 1st Africa Forum Baden-Württemberg For the first time, there was a large stage and the opportunity to redesign collaborations.

The African diaspora plays an important and so far little present role in civil commitment to partnerships with Africa. To shed light on this aspect of cooperation, over 27 people gathered in the Filderhalle in Leinfelden-Echterdingen on October 350th. Another 100 participants from seven different African countries joined in online. The Development Cooperation Foundation (SEZ) and the Forum of Cultures invited the event together with eleven Afrodiaspora organizations that are committed to global sustainability issues and fair partnerships.

Afrodiaspora expertise

Under the motto “Changing the Narrative”, the concentrated development policy expertise of civil society activists, in particular Afrodiasporic organizations and representatives of federal and state politics, came together. They discussed what new directions, approaches, ideas and values ​​global partnerships of the future need and set topics for new narratives.

Dr. Rachid L’Aoufir, Chairman of the African-German Working Group and Transnational Corridors e.V., emphasized: “The Africa Forum activates the potential of African-German civil society. Trust is built between stakeholders. We now need to monetize the knowledge of diaspora actors, strengthen diaspora intermediaries and we need to reach the local level. This is where the sustainability of the diaspora actors’ actions comes into play. The Africa Forum must be institutionalized.”

We can only agree with this, thank everyone who took part and look forward to the next, second Africa Forum Baden-Württemberg. Until then!

Name

Calendar of Events

news

Press

Newsletter

About Us

Team

Jobs & Careers

Foundation mission

History

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

support group

Topics

Global Commune

Africa Forum #Changing the Narrative

Partnership Center

World:Citizens asked!

project funding

Economy

Projects

Bworks!

Mindchangers

BW-Burundi partnership

Act fairly

Future fashion

School and global learning

To connect

Funded projects

World shop directory Baden-Württemberg

Network map for Baden-Württemberg

Media Library

Photo and video gallery

Exhibition rental

SEZ publications

Donate

Afrika Forum Baden-Württemberg

Das Afrika Forum für eine gerechtere Perspektive auf den afrikanischen Kontinent und auf Baden-Württemberg

#Changing the Narrative

Viele Menschen mit afrikanischer Herkunft, die ihren Lebensmittelpunkt in Baden-Württemberg haben, setzen sich aktiv für globale Verantwortung, die Agenda 2030 und vielfältige Partnerschaften sowohl in Baden-Württemberg, als auch in ihren Ursprungsländern ein. Nach der erfolgreichen und inspirierenden Auftaktveranstaltung und der Grundsteinlegung des ersten Afrika Forums Baden-Württemberg im Jahr 2022, soll nun eine dauerhafte Plattform der afro-diasporischen Zivilgesellschaft gefördert werden. Das Netzwerk Afrika Forum Baden-Württemberg strebt nach dem Austausch zwischen allen Akteur*innen, sowohl aus der Landespolitik, Stiftungen, der kommunalen Vertretungen und auch der Verwaltung und möchte diese Partnerschaften und die Partizipation der Engagierten zu globalen Themen stärken, um auch das Afrikabild in Baden-Württemberg neu zu denken. Koordiniert wird das Netzwerk Afrika Forum Baden-Württemberg gemeinsam vom Forum der Kulturen e.V. und der SEZ, mit Unterstützung des Staatsministeriums Baden-Württemberg.

Werden Sie Teil des Netzwerkes

Wir freuen uns über Ihr Interesse am Afrika Forum und laden Sie herzlich ein, Teil des Netzwerkes zu werden. Hier erfahren Sie von den geplanten und den vergangenen Netzwerktreffen.

02. Jul
BW-BURUNDI PARTNER­SCHAFTSCHULE UND GLOBALES LERNENSEZ

Connecting Futures – Global Youth Partnerships for Change

17:30 - 20:00
20. Jun
SEZWIRT­SCHAFT

Biogas, Solar- und Windkraft: Nachhaltige Energiegewinnung in Subsahara-Afrika: Entwicklungspolitischer Lunch Talk

12:00 - 13:30
06. Sep
ENGAGIERTE IN BADEN-WÜRTTEMBERG

Erlebnistour Rhein-Neckar-Kreis: Vom Fluss ins Meer – Der Weg unseres Mülls

14:00 - 18:00
26. Okt
AFRIKA FORUM

Afrika Forum Baden-Württemberg

ganztags

Netzwerktreffen 2024

Das letzte Netzwerktreffen fand am 06. April 2024 auf der Messe Fair Handeln in Stuttgart statt. Das Thema war Perspektivenwechsel: Afrikabilder im Spiegel der Generationen. Etablierte und junge Stimmen aus der Afrodiaspora haben dabei in Wohnzimmer-Gesprächen ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen und Begegnungen mit Afrikabildern und der stereotypen Darstellung des Kontinents in Baden-Württemberg geteilt. Moderiert von Faisal Osman (Black Community Foundation Stuttgart e.V.) haben Naemi Mirene Makiadi (Afrokids International e.V., ReCollect Kollektiv) und Komlan Batema (KAMA MBOWOU e.V) sowie Grace Alele (SIMAMA – STEH AUF e.V.) und Eric Kamguia (Awoli e.V.) gemeinsam über die Vielfalt und Komplexität des afrikanischen Kontinents gesprochen. In den Gesprächen wurden die Zuhörer*innen von den Speaker*innen auf eine intergenerationale Zeitreise in die Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft genommen. Musikalisch hat die Künstlerin Akeva! Malayika die Veranstaltung mit entwicklungspolitisch relevanten Liedern umrahmt.

Netzwerktreffen auf der Fair Handeln: Afrikabilder im Spiegel der Generationen (© Cengiz Akaygün)
Netzwerktreffen auf der Fair Handeln: Afrikabilder im Spiegel der Generationen (© Cengiz Akaygün)

Netzwerktreffen 2023

Lassen Sie uns gemeinsam ein neues Kapitel aufschlagen, andere Geschichten schreiben und auf dieser Basis gleichwertige Partnerschaften pflegen, die uns allen eine gerechtere Perspektive auf den afrikanischen Kontinent und auf uns in Baden-Württemberg eröffnen! Denn nur so können wir die globalen Herausforderungen bewältigen.

Am 27. Oktober 2023 fand hierfür im Rahmen der Afrika-Tage in Ludwigsburg ein Netzwerktreffen des Afrika Forum Baden-Württemberg statt. Im Anschluss an das Netzwerktreffen wurde die Gründung des 1. Panafrikanischen Rat Baden-Württembergs angestoßen.

IHRE ANSPRECHPARTNERINNEN

SAMRAWIT PETROS

Strategie Partnerschaften & Afrika-Forum

LESLIE HAWENER

Referentin der Geschäftsleitung & Kommunikation

Einblicke in das erste Afrika-Forum am 27. Oktober 2022

Gemeinsam das Narrativ verändern. Gemeinsam Partnerschaften neugestalten.

Die immer gleichen Bilder mit den immer gleichen Erzählungen: Gängige Afrikabilder stehen völlig zu Recht in der Kritik. Denn: Über den afrikanischen Kontinent wird leider oft nur in Stereotypen berichtet, die sich weitgehend kolonialer Bildmuster bedienen.

Erzählt wird immer noch gerne die Geschichte eines wohltätigen Europas, das einem vermeintlich rückständigen Afrika unter die Arme greift. Höchste Zeit, dieses Narrativ zu verändern! Ganz konkret auch hinsichtlich der Fragen: Wer macht Entwicklungspolitik in Baden-Württemberg? Wie wird der afrikanische Kontinent in Baden-Württemberg gesehen?

Zusammenarbeit mit Afrika wird immer wichtiger.

Die Expertise und die Partnerschaften zur Ausgestaltung dieser Zusammenarbeit sind in Baden-Württemberg bereits vorhanden. Mit dem 1. Afrika-Forum Baden-Württemberg bot sich dafür erstmals eine große Bühne und die Chance, Kooperationen neu zu gestalten.

Eine bedeutende und bislang wenig präsente Rolle spielt die afrikanische Diaspora im bürgerlichen Engagement für Partnerschaften mit Afrika. Um diesen Aspekt der Zusammenarbeit zu beleuchten fanden sich am 27. Oktober über 350 Menschen in der Filderhalle in Leinfelden-Echterdingen ein. Weitere 100 Teilnehmende aus sieben verschiedenen afrikanischen Ländern waren online zugeschaltet. Dazu eingeladen hatten die Stiftung Entwicklungs-Zusammenarbeit (SEZ) und das Forum der Kulturen gemeinsam mit elf Organisationen der Afrodiaspora, die sich für globale Nachhaltigkeitsthemen und gerechte Partnerschaften einsetzen.

Expertise der Afrodiaspora

Unter dem Motto „Changing the Narrative“ hatte sich die geballte entwicklungspolitische Expertise von Engagierten der Zivilgesellschaft, insbesondere von afrodiasporischen Organisationen und Vertretenden der Bundes- und Landespolitik versammelt. Sie diskutierten, welche neuen Weichenstellungen, Ansätze, Ideen und Werte globale Partnerschaften der Zukunft brauchen und setzten Themen für neue Narrative.

Dr. Rachid L’Aoufir, Vorsitzender der Afrikanisch-Deutschen Arbeitsgemeinschaft und von Transnational Corridors e.V., betonte: „Das Afrika-Forum aktiviert das Potential der afrikanisch-deutschen Zivilgesellschaft. Vertrauen zwischen den Stakeholdern wird aufgebaut. Wir müssen nun das Wissen der Diasporaakteure monetarisieren, die Vermittler der Diaspora stärken und wir müssen die kommunale Ebene erreichen. Hier spielt sich die Nachhaltigkeit des Handelns der Diasporaakteure ab. Das Afrika Forum muss institutionalisiert werden.“

Dem können wir uns nur anschließen, uns bei allen Teilnehmenden herzlich bedanken und uns schon heute auf das nächste, zweite Afrika-Forum Baden-Württemberg freuen. Bis dahin!

Name

Veranstaltungskalender

Neuigkeiten

Presse

Newsletter

Über uns

Team

Stellenangebote

Stiftungsauftrag

Geschichte

Stiftungsrat

Kuratorium

Förderkreis

Themen

Globale Kommune

Afrika Forum #Changing the Narrative

Partnerschaftszentrum

Welt:Bürger gefragt!

Projektförderung

Wirtschaft

Projekte

Bwirkt!

Mindchangers

BW-Burundi Partnerschaft

Fair Handeln

Future Fashion

Schule und Globales Lernen

Sich vernetzen

Geförderte Projekte

Weltladenverzeichnis Baden-Württemberg

Vernetzungskarte für Baden-Württemberg

Mediathek

Foto- und Videogalerie

Ausstellungsverleih

Publikationen der SEZ

Spenden