Cluster of the AMAHORO! Partnership

You see an image full of patterns. Six patterns are highlighted.

In 2022, key areas of cooperation were defined for the AMAHORO! state partnership. The clusters are part of the political dialogue with Burundian partners, which is coordinated by the State Ministry of Baden-Württemberg.

  • Governance and Local Government
  • Agroforestry
  • Health
  • Peace work
  • AMAHORO! School initiative
  • Climate & Environment

The clusters started their work at the BW-Burundi Conference in October 2022 Since then, a broad network has been formed. The actors who form the clusters are networks and contact points for people in Baden-Württemberg and Burundi who are already carrying out state partnership projects or have concrete ideas for a partnership project.

Governance and Local Government

The “Governance and Municipal” cluster, led by the Baden-Württemberg Association of Cities, is dedicated to expanding administrative capacities in the partnership. The Kehl University of Public Administration and the Université du Burundi are cooperating in setting up an administrative school to train municipal officials in Burundi. In addition, there are cooperation projects in relevant areas of municipal public services between municipalities in the partner countries.

Additional information:
www.staedtetag-bw.de/Stadt-Land-Stark-/Zukunftsmacher/Kommunale-Partnerschaften/

Contact persons:
Mimun Ait Atmane,
Project Coordinator Municipal Partnerships, Association of Cities Baden-Württemberg
mimun.aitatmane@staedtetag-bw.de

Prof. Dr. Ewald Eisenberg
eisenberg@hs-kehl.de
www.hs-kehl.de/

Agroforestry

Growing coffee in agroforestry systems offers a wide range of ecological and economic advantages. Since 2019, the fair trade importer WeltPartner eG and Naturland have been advising 17 cooperatives of the Burundian coffee association COCOCA on switching to this sustainable cultivation. The organic coffee produced from this is imported by WeltPartner and sold as partnership coffee. Rottenburg University of Applied Sciences and the Université Burundi are carrying out the accompanying scientific research. Both natural (erosion, water management, biodiversity, etc.) and social science aspects (acceptance, family income, etc.) are taken into account.

Additional information:
www.hs-rottenburg.net/forschung/projekte-schwerpunkte/agroforstprojekt-burundi/
www.weltpartner.de/cococa

Health

The health cluster is headed by Anja Schelling, managing director of the Morpho Foundation in Tübingen. Various workshops were held to identify needs and the resulting health issues, and a network with actors from Burundi and Germany was set up. The current projects include first aid training in schools in 5 provinces in Burundi. In addition, the improvement of the infrastructure of the hospital in Kayanza was supported. Partnerships are to be established between Baden-Württemberg Red Cross associations and the Red Cross in Burundi.

Additional information: www.morpho-foundation.com/#was

Contact:
Anja Schelling
anja.schelling@morpho-foundation.com
+49 7071 754 312 - 6

Peace work

The cluster “Peace Work: Coordination of Civil Society and Research” connects scientific and civil society (including church) actors in Baden-Württemberg with actors in Burundi, Rwanda and the DR Congo. The goal: to develop a decolonizing (peace) culture of Ubuntu, i.e. respect, reciprocity and solidarity.
It builds on the long-standing peace work, particularly of the Mont Sion Gikungu Peace Center in Burundi and on the research and science transfer of the Caritas Science at the University of Freiburg (peace and conflict research including the Girubuntu Peace Academy (GPA) on decolonization, remembrance and peace work in Burundi and in the African Great Lakes region).

Additional information:
www.theol.uni-freiburg.de/disciplinae/ccs
www.theol.uni-freiburg.de/disciplinae/ccs/Cluster
www.pprbdi-gl.org
X: @GirubuntuPeace1

Contact persons:
In Germany
Dr. Deogratias Maruhukiro (PhD)
University of Freiburg / Department of Caritas Science
deogratias.maruhukiro@theol.uni-freiburg.de

In Burundi 
Dr. Aloys Misago
Schoenstatt Fathers, Mont Sion Gikungu
misagod@hotmail.com

AMAHORO school initiative

The school initiative makes the Burundi-Baden-Württemberg partnership tangible. Stimulating materials for educational work, creative projects, training courses, meetings and school partnerships bring shared learning spaces to life. Information and educational measures are monitored, planned, tested and implemented. In different formats, people deal with topics and questions in the context of the partnership and learn together. The school initiative builds on existing (school) partnerships that have developed over the years.

Additional information: www.epiz.de/de/projekte/schulinitiative-amahoro-burundi

Contact:
Divine Umulisa
amahoro@epiz.de

Climate & Environment

The Climate Protection Foundation, together with atmosfair gGmbH, is developing climate protection projects in Burundi with the aim of reducing greenhouse gas emissions and actively combating climate change in Burundi. The projects are designed as compensation projects. This means that the emission reductions of the implemented measures are quantified and externally verified. One of the projects involves the introduction of improved cooking stoves. The use of highly efficient Save80 stoves reduces wood consumption for cooking by up to 80%, which leads to significant emission savings and reduces the pressure on deforestation in Burundi.

 Additional information: www.klimaschutzstiftung-bw.de

Contact:
Olga Panic-Savanovic
panic@bwstiftung.de

Your contact person

MUNA HASSABALLAH

Partnership work by AMAHORO! Country partnership between BW & Burundi

Calendar of Events

news

Press

Newsletter

About Us

Team

Jobs & Careers

Foundation mission

History

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

support group

Topics

Global Commune

Africa Forum #Changing the Narrative

Partnership Center

World:Citizens asked!

project funding

Economy

Projects

Bworks!

Mindchangers

BW-Burundi partnership

Act fairly

Future fashion

School and global learning

To connect

Funded projects

World shop directory Baden-Württemberg

Network map for Baden-Württemberg

Media Library

Photo and video gallery

Exhibition rental

SEZ publications

Donate

Cluster der AMAHORO! Partnerschaft

Man sieht ein Bild voller Muster. Sechs Muster sind hervorgehoben.

Im Jahr 2022 wurden für die AMAHORO! Landespartnerschaft Arbeitsschwerpunkte für die Zusammenarbeit definiert. Die Cluster sind teil des politischen Dialogs mit burundischen Partner*innen, der vom Staatsministerium Baden-Württemberg koordiniert wird.

  • Governance und Kommunales
  • Agroforst
  • Gesundheit
  • Friedensarbeit
  • AMAHORO! Schulinitiative
  • Klima

Ihre Arbeit nahmen die Cluster auf der BW-Burundi Konferenz im Oktober 2022 auf. Seitdem hat sich ein breites Netzwerk gebildet. Die Akteur*innen, die die Cluster bilden sind Netzwerk und Verbindungsstellen für Menschen in Baden-Württemberg und Burundi, die bereits Projekte der Landespartnerschaft durchführen oder konkrete Ideen für ein Partnerschaftsprojekt haben.

Governance und Kommunales

Das Cluster “Governance und Kommunales” unter Federführung des Städtetags Baden-Württemberg widmet sich dem Ausbau von Verwaltungskapazitäten in der Partnerschaft. Die Hochschule für öffentliche Verwaltung Kehl und die Université du Burundi kooperieren im Aufbau einer Verwaltungsschule zur Ausbildung von Kommunalbeamt*innen in Burundi. Hinzu kommen Kooperationsprojekte in relevanten Bereichen der kommunalen Daseinsvorsorge zwischen Kommunen in den Partnerländern.

Weiterführende Informationen:
www.staedtetag-bw.de/Stadt-Land-Stark-/Zukunftsmacher/Kommunale-Partnerschaften/

Kontaktpersonen:
Mimun Ait Atmane,
Projektkoordinator Kommunale Partnerschaften, Städtetag Baden-Württemberg
mimun.aitatmane@staedtetag-bw.de

Prof. Dr. Ewald Eisenberg
eisenberg@hs-kehl.de
www.hs-kehl.de/

Agroforst

Kaffeeanbau in Agroforstsystemen bietet vielfältige ökologische und ökonomische Vorteile. Seit 2019 beraten der Fair Trade Importeur WeltPartner eG und Naturland 17 Genossenschaften des burundischen Kaffee-Verbandes COCOCA bei der Umstellung auf diesen nachhaltigen Anbau. Der daraus gewonnene Bio-Kaffee wird von WeltPartner importiert und als Partnerschaftskaffee vertrieben. Die Hochschule Rottenburg übernimmt mit der Université Burundi die wissenschaftliche Begleitforschung. Hierbei werden sowohl natur- (Erosion, Wassermanagement, Biodiversität, etc.), als auch gesellschaftswissenschaftliche Aspekte (Akzeptanz, Familieneinkommen, etc.) berücksichtigt.

Kontaktpersonen:
Prof. Dr. Heidi Elisabeth Megerle
Professur für Angewandte Geographie und Planung Hochschule für Forstwirtschaft Rottenburg Schadenweilerhof
megerle@hs-rottenburg.de

Jannis Bahnmüller
Hochschule für Forstwirtschaft Rottenburg Schadenweilerhof
Bahnmueller@hs-rottenburg.de

Thomas Hoyer
Geschäftsführender Vorstand WeltPartner eG
hoyer@weltpartner.de

Weiterführende Informationen:
www.hs-rottenburg.net/forschung/projekte-schwerpunkte/agroforstprojekt-burundi/
www.weltpartner.de/cococa

Gesundheit

Das Cluster Gesundheit wird von Anja Schelling, Geschäftsführerin der Morpho Foundation in Tübingen, geleitet. Zur Erarbeitung der Bedarfe und daraus resultierenden Gesundheitsthemen wurden diverse Workshops durchgeführt und ein Netzwerk mit Akteur*innen aus Burundi und Deutschland aufgebaut. Die aktuellen Projekte sind Erste-Hilfe Schulungen in Schulen von 5 Provinzen in Burundi. Zusätzlich wurde die Verbesserung der Infrastruktur des Krankenhauses in Kayanza unterstützt. Partnerschaften zwischen baden-württembergischen Verbänden des Roten Kreuzes und dem Roten Kreuz in Burundi sollen aufgebaut werden.

Weiterführende Informationen: www.morpho-foundation.com/#was

Kontaktperson:
Anja Schelling
anja.schelling@morpho-foundation.com
+49 7071 754 312 – 6

Friedensarbeit

Das Cluster „Friedensarbeit: Koordination Zivilgesellschaft und Forschung“ vernetzt wissenschaftliche und zivilgesellschaftliche (inkl. kirchliche) Akteur*innen in Baden-Württemberg mit Akteur*innen in Burundi, Ruanda und der DR Kongo. Das Ziel: Entwicklung einer dekolonisierenden (Friedens-) Kultur der Ubuntu, d.h. Respekt, Reziprozität und Solidarität.
Es baut auf die langjährige Friedensarbeit insbesondere des Friedenszentrums Mont Sion Gikungu in Burundi und auf der Forschung und dem Wissenschaftstransfer der Caritaswissenschaft der Universität Freiburg (Friedens- und Konfliktforschung inkl. Girubuntu Peace Academy (GPA) zu Dekolonialisierung, Erinnerungs- und Friedensarbeit in Burundi und in der Region Afrika der Großen Seen) auf.

Weiterführende Informationen:
www.theol.uni-freiburg.de/disciplinae/ccs
www.theol.uni-freiburg.de/disciplinae/ccs/Cluster
www.pprbdi-gl.org
X: @GirubuntuPeace1

Kontaktpersonen:
In Deutschland
Dr. Déogratias Maruhukiro (PhD)
Universität Freiburg / AB Caritaswissenschaft
deogratias.maruhukiro@theol.uni-freiburg.de

In Burundi 
Dr. Aloys Misago
Schoenstatt-Patres, Mont Sion Gikungu
misagod@hotmail.com

AMAHORO Schulinitiative

Die Schulinitiative macht die Länderpartnerschaft Burundi – Baden-Württemberg greifbar. Anregende Materialien für die Bildungsarbeit, kreative Projekte, Fortbildungen, Begegnungen und Schulpartnerschaften lassen gemeinsame Lernräume lebendig werden. Es werden Maßnahmen zur Informations- und Bildungsarbeit begleitet, geplant, erprobt und umgesetzt. In unterschiedlichen Formaten setzen sich Menschen mit Themen und Fragestellungen im Kontext der Partnerschaft auseinander und lernen gemeinsam. Dabei setzt die Schulinitiative u.a. an bestehenden (Schul-)Partnerschaften an, die im Laufe der Jahre entstanden sind.

Weiterführende Informationen: www.epiz.de/de/projekte/schulinitiative-amahoro-burundi

Kontaktperson:
Divine Umulisa
amahoro@epiz.de

Klima

Die Klimaschutzstiftung entwickelt gemeinsam mit der atmosfair gGmbH Klimaschutzprojekte in Burundi mit dem Ziel, Treibhausgasemissionen zu verringern und aktiv gegen den Klimawandel in Burundi vorzugehen. Die Projekte sind als Kompensationsprojekte konzipiert. Das bedeutet, dass die Emissionsminderungen der implementierten Maßnahmen quantifiziert und extern überprüft werden. Eines der Projekte umfasst die Einführung verbesserter Kochherde. Der Einsatz hoch-effizienter Save80-Öfen reduziert den Holzverbrauch beim Kochen um bis zu 80%, was zu bedeutenden Emissionseinsparungen führt und den Druck auf die Abholzung der Wälder in Burundi mindert.

 Weiterführende Informationen: www.klimaschutzstiftung-bw.de

Kontaktperson:
Olga Panic-Savanovic
panic@bwstiftung.de

Ihre Ansprechpartnerin

MUNA HASSABALLAH

Partnerschaftsarbeit der AMAHORO! Landespartnerschaft zwischen BW & Burundi

Veranstaltungskalender

Neuigkeiten

Presse

Newsletter

Über uns

Team

Stellenangebote

Stiftungsauftrag

Geschichte

Stiftungsrat

Kuratorium

Förderkreis

Themen

Globale Kommune

Afrika Forum #Changing the Narrative

Partnerschaftszentrum

Welt:Bürger gefragt!

Projektförderung

Wirtschaft

Projekte

Bwirkt!

Mindchangers

BW-Burundi Partnerschaft

Fair Handeln

Future Fashion

Schule und Globales Lernen

Sich vernetzen

Geförderte Projekte

Weltladenverzeichnis Baden-Württemberg

Vernetzungskarte für Baden-Württemberg

Mediathek

Foto- und Videogalerie

Ausstellungsverleih

Publikationen der SEZ

Spenden